"Require recipients to log in"

  • 3
  • Question
  • Updated 6 months ago
I can't seem to find any support information on this.
When using Email with ShareFile to share a file, one of the Message Options is Require recipients to log in - which has the default setting of not checked. What happens to the shared file if that option is not selected? I assume it is still encrypted when uploaded to ShareFile's servers. But, if the recipient is not required to log in, then they must not have to create a username and password in order to access the file. And they could forward the ShareFile notification email to (or it could be intercepted by) anyone else who would also be able to access the file unimpeded. It seems counter-intuitive for a secure file transfer service to have as a default setting the ability to send a file to anyone without requiring them to log in to access it. What am I missing?
Photo of steve.aldrich

steve.aldrich

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 1 year ago

  • 3
Photo of Lokitha

Lokitha, Knowledge Services Specialist

  • 12 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Official Response

If you are unable to login to your account, open yourdomain.sharefile.com and click the Forgot password link.

Refer to CTX238137 - Unable to login to My ShareFile Account, Password Not Working for more details

Citrix identified some unusual logins to certain Citrix ShareFile (aka. Citrix Content Collaboration) user accounts. We are requiring a password reset for all non-SSO accounts. Upon logging into ShareFile, users will no longer be able to use their old password. They will have received an email providing a link to reset their password.

For more details on the recent password policy change, refer to Citrix forces password reset to protect against credential stuffing