It should be possible to change the owner of files and folders (and recursively).
Today it is only possible to change owner of files and folders by:
- Deleting the user account that is owner of the files/folders and transferring ownership
- Deleting and re-creating the file/folder with the new owner.
- Contacting Citrix every time.
UserA creates a folder for collaboration within Team1. After a period UserA is transferred to Team2 and should no longer have have access to the Team1 collaboration folder (for whatever security/privacy/contractual reason that may be). But because UserA created the Team1 collaboration folder, UserA cannot be removed.
This is a scenario we face several times each year, as we have users transferring between departments and/or satelite offices.
We do utilize a Powershell script blessed by support to scrub users after 30 days of being disabled in AD but yet they still have ownership label instead of our ShareFile Admin user.
There are two statuses involved here: the folder owner and the folder creator. Even if you are able to manually change the owner, the fact that the user created the folder would still remain and, from my understanding with the way the folders work, would still give that user access that way. This is why the only ways to remove folder ownership involve terminating the creator in some way or working around it by substituting one from a different creator.
As a note, you can never change the folder creator. This is the abbreviated name that displays next to the folder name when listed, and, again, is a separate status from the folder owner, which will show in the list of user permissions when seeing who has access to the folder.
If you have people who are moved from project to project or another highly transient situation, the general suggestion is to use a general or admin account to create the folder structure so that you can remove all the real users from the folders when needed.
To give an example, we have interns on 6 month contracts, and rotating where employees are stationed/posted every year. This means we have a guesstimate of 700 users that are automatically removed from all "old" Windows Network Shares and then added to the "new" Windows Network Shares, relevant to their new posting. This is not possible with ShareFile as it stands today.
I see it as an absolute MUST to be able to change owners without deleting a user. Your workaround are honestly not useful at all, as we cannot manage the creation of ad-hoc project and team folders for 3000 employees.
Are you giving all your users the ability to create root level folders, or is this only involving subfolders?
Because I just tested to make sure, and you can remove the folder creator of a subfolder from that subfolder perfectly fine, as long as that user did not create the root level folder. It's the one who creates the root level folder that is the problem, and it seems insane for 3000 users to all be creating root level folders, as your super user(s) would have to wait forever to get the Shared Folders page to load.
If this is all root level folders then yes, you don't have a lot of options.