Employee still has access to files moved to a folder they do not have access to

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 10 months ago
I have organized several main folders into Current and Archived with client folders nested inside.  This is so employees only have access to those client folders that they currently need.  Inactive client folders are moved to the archived folder with limited access. 

I am finding that an employee that had access to a file when it was current, still has access to it even though it has been moved to a folder she does not have access to. 

What am I doing wrong? 
Photo of NCH IVR Laura L Hawley

NCH IVR Laura L Hawley

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 12 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Leo

Leo, Official Rep

  • 404 Posts
  • 37 Reply Likes
Hi Laura,

My apologies for the very late reply.  I'm trying to think of possibilities, but since you're specifying a file, if an employee has upload notifications enabled on a folder, the notification that results from the file being uploaded creates a Share link.  If that is the case, since she no longer has access to the folder, deleting the file first and then uploading a fresh one to that folder location should resolve the problem, because the system will treat it as a completely new file and the old notification link won't link to it.

-Leo