File delete issue after upload by client user

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 month ago
If a client user, who has no delete rights, uploads a new version of the document he can delete the whole document.

Note: See for more details the enhancement request: RFE ID-005990 created by Citrix Support Engineer Sreedeep Unnikrishnan)
Photo of Arjan Boekestijn

Arjan Boekestijn

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 1 month ago

  • 1
Photo of Nadine Maloney

Nadine Maloney, Employee

  • 9 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
There is an account setting that will allow the user to delete a file created by that user,even if the user does not have delete rights on the folder.
Photo of Arjan Boekestijn

Arjan Boekestijn

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
@Nadine, thank you for your reply. Can you give me a hint where to find this Admin setting?
Photo of Chris Anderson

Chris Anderson, Product Manager

  • 325 Posts
  • 49 Reply Likes
@Arjan - you will need to call into support and have them disable the setting.
Photo of Nadine Maloney

Nadine Maloney, Employee

  • 9 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
Please reach out to support and request that they disable the ‘creator can delete’ setting. Here is the website: https://www.sharefile.com/support/request. The person who contacts support needs to be the admin for account.
Photo of Arjan Boekestijn

Arjan Boekestijn

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I had contact with Citrix support last Friday. The support engineer Sreedeep Unnikrishnan created an enhancement request: RFE ID-005990. Why, if this is a setting? I am confused now......
(Edited)