file moves failed - your file(s) were automatically moved back to their original location

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 weeks ago
using the citrix files drive mapper app, trying to cut some folders from the "shared with me" folder to my "personal folder" I get an error 
I can move the folders no problem using the web interface

any insight?


Photo of chris_s

chris_s

  • 12 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 4 weeks ago

  • 1
Photo of Michael Cooney

Michael Cooney

  • 12 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hello Chris, sorry to hear about that, would you mind submitting your logs by right-clicking the tray icon, opening up help and clicking the "Send Logs" button at the bottom?
Photo of chris_s

chris_s

  • 12 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I've sent my logs, is there anything I need to do to identify myself? 
Photo of Michael Cooney

Michael Cooney

  • 12 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I found them, so I see the error, but the surprising thing is that this works through the web interface. Correct me if I am wrong, but the folder you are trying to move is another user's personal folder?
Photo of chris_s

chris_s

  • 12 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
the folder I'm trying to move is the folder of a deleted user. when I delete a user their personal folder gets archived to /shared folders, then I move that folder to a different location for archival
Photo of Michael Cooney

Michael Cooney

  • 12 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Ok, thanks for the info, I have to check with our platform team as we are getting this error message from them: 
ShareFile.Api.Client.Exceptions.ODataException: Personal folder parent cannot be updated.

I'll post back here when they respond.
Photo of Michael Cooney

Michael Cooney

  • 12 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
So the platform team got back to me, it turns out that the reason that the web app works is because it uses the BulkMove API even for single folder moves and that API had separate and different validation. They are going to fix the validation on the BulkMove API to also block this operation at least in the short-term, and they are also looking into some long-term options to allow users to perform this action.

All that said, in order to unblock you in the mean time, a simple workaround that should work is to create a folder where you want to move the archived user's folder to, then simply cut the contents of the users folder and paste it inside your new folder.

Sorry for the inconvenience.