Prevent users from editing same file at same time? (other than Check Out)

  • 3
  • Question
  • Updated 7 months ago
I know there is the check in check out feature for this, but...
We are used to our in-house file server, and if someone opened an AutoCAD drawing and was working in it, if another user went to open that drawing, AutoCAD would ask if they wanted to open it Read Only. 
That prevented anyone from ever editing the same drawing at once, which would be a huge issue.
Same goes for things like Word and Excel files.
Again, I know there is the Check Out feature, but well honestly, that relies on the employee remember to check the file out EVERY time they want to make sure no one else is editing it. (or at least once every 24 hours)
Is there no way around this? I can see this being a MAJOR complaint from the employees, and I also (as the IT manager) see it as a big risk.
We are using Citrix Files for Windows. Far as I can tell, I do not want to use the Sync app, since the PCs dont have near enough space to keep a copy of all our files on them locally.
Photo of John Trotto

John Trotto

  • 10 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 7 months ago

  • 3
Photo of Prabhat Tyagi

Prabhat Tyagi, Director, Product Engineering

  • 189 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
Hi John,

Thanks for your feedback. We have got similar feedback from some other users too. We are looking at some approaches to make the check out/check more seamless. 

Cheers
Prabhat Tyagi
Photo of John Trotto

John Trotto

  • 10 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Simply adding an option to make the system automatically check the file out any time its opened, and check it back in any time its closed, would be a great solution.
So for now, I am right in assuming this is an issue, and that I will have to drill into the employees they must check out files?
Photo of Prabhat Tyagi

Prabhat Tyagi, Director, Product Engineering

  • 189 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
Thats correct John. Currently, a user needs to explicitly check out to get exclusive lock on the file. Not doing it would lead to multiple users editing their own local copy and inadvertently overwriting other users changes. 

Cheers
Prabhat Tyagi
(Edited)