reinstall sync app

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 weeks ago
I had to reset my computer but I had all my data synced to an external drive.  is there away i can reinstall teh sync app and pick up the existing sync folder so it does not have to download all the data.  I have about 300-400 gigs of data.
Photo of jason MAMC

jason MAMC

  • 61 Posts
  • 13 Reply Likes

Posted 4 weeks ago

  • 1
Photo of Christopher Kroschel

Christopher Kroschel

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
I don't care but please stop spamming
Photo of jason MAMC

jason MAMC

  • 61 Posts
  • 13 Reply Likes
this is not a spam.  this is a legitimate question, how do you consider this spamming?
Photo of jason MAMC

jason MAMC

  • 61 Posts
  • 13 Reply Likes
Do you mind removing your comment
Photo of Rakesh Kumar

Rakesh Kumar, Employee

  • 21 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
@Jason

You can try following these steps:

Assuming old data is @ E:\Work\ShareFile

1. Rename E:\Work\ShareFile -> E:\Work\ShareFile-old

Install sync and configure the same account and select the same folders to sync as you had earlier selected. During configuration select a new sync root folder (e.g. E:\Work\ShareFile ) right next to old ShareFile root.

2. Compare the top folder structures under
     E:\Work\ShareFile-old\Shared Folders <-> E:\Work\ShareFile\Shared Folders
     E:\Work\ShareFile-old\Shared With Me <-> E:\Work\ShareFile\Shared With Me
     E:\Work\ShareFile-old\Personal Folders <-> E:\Work\ShareFile\Personal Folders
     E:\Work\ShareFile-old\Favorites  <-> E:\Work\ShareFile\Favorites

make sure they are same. Otherwise check if you have missed selecting any folders for syncing.

3. Exit Sync. ( Do not need to wait for content to sync, just the top level folder structure should be created )

4. Delete the  E:\Work\ShareFile\.Database\.syncdb file. FYI .Database is a hidden folder. 
5. Make sure to also delete the E:\Work\ShareFile-old\.Database\.syncdb file from old ShareFile sync root folder.
6. Now rename ShareFile-old -> ShareFile OR copy the data from ShareFile-old to ShareFile.
7. Start sync.

Sync should just match the content hash from what is at remote. It will not download the files that matches remote.

Note:
1. This may result in uploading any files/folders again that are deleted from remote
2. In some cases if your local file is very old and there have been > 20 updates to that file on remote then sync will end up uploading this old file as latest.