what happens to a deleted users encrypted emails

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 3 weeks ago
what happens to a deleted users encrypted emails if it is sent via sharefile?  are they still accessible?  Also is it possible that if sent via a sharefile that a copy of the email notification can send a copy to the users email address?  for compliance purposes, we need a copy of the email notification.  to clarify i am refering to the email that states that their is an encrypted email and the user has to log in to view not the encrypted message itself.   
Photo of jason MAMC

jason MAMC

  • 80 Posts
  • 16 Reply Likes

Posted 1 month ago

  • 1
Photo of Leo

Leo, Official Rep

  • 413 Posts
  • 37 Reply Likes
Hi Jason,

When you delete a user, it asks you to reassign their files and folders to someone else.  Whoever that someone else is will be able to see the encrypted emails, although it will show as under their name due to the reassignment.  If you need the email notification, have you checked the notification history in the account?

-Leo
Photo of jason MAMC

jason MAMC

  • 80 Posts
  • 16 Reply Likes
Leo Thanks for the reply.  is there a way for an admin to see who was reassigned a deleted users files?  just curious if we needed to find an email and do some research in the future and put the puzzle pieces together.
Photo of Leo

Leo, Official Rep

  • 413 Posts
  • 37 Reply Likes
It doesn't look like it is picked up in the Usage Report unfortunately.  A representative can try to research it for you, but the exact date would be a needle in a haystack if it wasn't in the last 90 days.  

-Leo